About INTC

Our Mission:

We envision a future where new teacher induction is natural and comprehensive, driven by universal commitment to teacher development, student achievement, and school improvement; characterized by research-proven practice.

We further envision this all occurring within a seamless continuum of professional development that extends from pre-service preparation through the duration of the career.

INTC provides free and low-cost services to assist districts and induction programs across Illinois. We thank the State Farm Companies Foundation and the College of Education at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for their generous support.


Annie Insana, Director

Lindsayanne (Annie) Insana received her PhD in Curriculum & Instruction with an emphasis in teacher education from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2015. She is currently the Assistant Director of Teacher Education in the College of Education and Director of the Illinois New Teacher Collaborative at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Her research involves understanding elementary teachers’ adaptive decision-making processes in the complex environment of the classroom. Insana is dedicated to teacher development and education at the preservice and inservice levels. She taught elementary school for seven years and has taught in the Early Childhood, Special Education, and Elementary teacher education programs. She can be reached at: insana@illinois.edu or 300-3181.

Katrina Kennett, Research Assistant ›

Katrina Kennett is a PhD Candidate in Curriculum and Instruction, with specializations in Literacy & Language and Writing Studies. A former high school English teacher, Katrina worked as part of the Performance Assessment Team to integrate technology and project based learning in her school. At UIUC, she has taught pre-service teachers in Secondary and Middle grades English as well as taught Writing Across Media, a course in Informatics and Writing Studies. As a research assistant, Katrina has served on the research teams of Dr. Bill Cope and the Illinois New Teacher Collaborative. In her dissertation work, she studies how teachers plan for classroom instruction, specifically as they incorporate digital technologies. She can be reached at: kennett@illinois.edu

Meghan Kessler, Research Assistant ›

Meghan Kessler is a PhD student at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign in the department of Curriculum and Instruction, Curriculum Aesthetics and Teacher Education division. Prior to coming to UIUC, Meghan was a high school and middle school social studies teacher in various districts across Illinois. At UIUC, Meghan instructs the teaching methods courses for secondary social studies preservice teachers and works as a University Supervisor for secondary and middle grades student teachers. She has served on the research teams of Dr. Emma Mercier and the Illinois New Teacher Collaborative. Meghan's research interests are in middle and secondary preservice teacher education, social studies preservice teacher education, preservice-to-early career teacher development and evaluation, and reforms of preservice teacher education. Her dissertation work will further analyze preservice teachers’ experiences with evaluation and accountability measures during their student teaching experiences and early career teaching. She can be reached at makessl2@illinois.edu

Michael Painter, Web and Database Developer ›

After becoming interested in web development at an early age, Mike Painter studied Computer Science, graduating in 2005 from the prestigious College of Engineering at the University of Illinois. Before joining the Illinois New Teacher Collaborative in 2010, he developed mobile and web applications for small businesses and research projects. At INTC, he helps manage data related to the website, conferences, and research, among other areas, and builds web applications as necessary. Since late 2012, he also works for the IT Group of the College of Education at the University of Illinois. He can be reached at: mpainter@illinois.edu

INTC Advisory Council

Lynn Burdick, Technology Integration Specialist, edTPA Coordinator

Lara Hebert, Researcher 

Barbara Hug, Clinical Associate Professor, Curriculum & Instruction

Alexis Jones, PhD Candidate 

Sarah Lubienski, Professor, Curriculum & Instruction 

Jay Mann, Director of School and Community Experiences 

Marilyn Parsons, Professor, Curriculum & Instruction

Chris Roegge, Director of the Council on Teacher Education